WASHINGTON — The Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board on Wednesday announced the seven individuals who will join its 21-member board of directors on Oct. 1 for three-year terms.

They were named after the board announced last week that Jay Goldstone, chief financial officer and chief operating officer of San Diego, will be its new chair, and Stephen E. Heaney, managing director for Stone & Youngberg, a division of Stifel Nicolaus & Co., will be its vice chair.

The seven new members include four representatives of the public — individuals not affiliated with brokers, dealers or municipal advisors — as well as a bank official, a securities official and a non-dealer muni advisor.

The MSRB also disclosed more than 130 candidates who were considered, but not chosen, for membership.

One of the incoming public board members is Utah state treasurer Richard K. Ellis, who is an adjunct professor at Brigham Young University's Marriott School of Business. Ellis has been a member of the Utah Retirement Systems' board of trustees and is secretary and treasurer of the National Association of State Treasurers.

Another is W. Bartley Hildreth, professor in the public management and policy department at the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies at Georgia State University. Hildreth was professor of public finance at Wichita State University and also head of the Kansas Public Finance Center and interim dean of the school's W. Frank Barton School of Business. In addition, he has been editor-in-chief of the Municipal Finance Journal since 1989 and is a former board member of two public finance authorities and former director of finance for Akron, Ohio.

Gene R. Saffold, another incoming public member, works as an independent financial, strategic and operational consultant. Previously he was chief financial officer for Chicago, vice chairman of national accounts at JPMorgan Chase & Co. and managing director of the midwest public finance group at Salomon Smith Barney, now Morgan Stanley Smith Barney LLC. A fourth new public member will be Robin L. Wiessmann, former treasurer of Pennsylvania and chairman of the board of directors of The Vantagepoint Funds. She was a founding principal and president of investment bank Artemis Capital Group and vice president at Goldman Sachs & Co.

The new securities firm representative is Craig Noble, managing director and head of the retail fixed income group at Wells Fargo Advisors and vice chair of Bond Dealers of America's board. Noble is former executive vice president and co-director of the muni group at EVEREN Capital, which was acquired by First Union National Bank in 1999. He also worked at Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc., which declared bankrupcy in in 2008, and Shearson Lehman Hutton.

The bank representative is Kym S. Arnone, managing director and head of municipal securitization initiatives at Barclays. She is a former senior banker at the former Bear, Stearns & Co.

The municipal advisor is Marianne Edmonds, senior managing director for Public Resources Advisory Group. She previously founded her own firm, Marianne Edmonds Inc. and was senior vice president at William R. Hough & Co., an investment firm acquired by RBC Dain Rauscher, now RBC.

The seven will replace board members slated to leave the MSRB on Sept. 30. They are: Milroy Alexander, former chief executive officer of the Colorado Housing and Finance Authority; Mark G. Muller, senior vice president and municipal portfolio manger for Loews Corp.; Kathleen A. McDonough, former senior managing director of Ambac Financial Group; Michael G. Bartolotta, vice chairman of First Southwest Co.; Adela Cepeda, president of A.C. Advisory, Inc.; C. Christopher Trower, owner of electriclaw.com; and Kevin L. Willens, managing director of Goldman Sachs & Co.

The candidates not elected included several non-dealer municipal advisors such as: Kathleen Aho, president of Springsted Inc.; Steve Apfelbacher from Ehlers; Robert Doty, of Government Financial Strategies, Inc.; Daniel Hartman of Public Financial Management, Inc.; and Robert A. Rich with The PFM Group.

Issuer official applicants included: Jim A. Beard, Atlanta's chief financial officer; Marcy Edwards, a senior financial policy advisor for the District of Columbia, Mary-Margaret Collier, director of state and local finance in the Tennessee Comptroller's office; William A. Chapman, chief financial officer at the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority; Ronald C. Green, controller of Houston; Marjorie E. Henning, general counsel for the New York City Office of Management and Budget; John E. McGee, excutive director for planning and policy at the Arizona Department of Transportation; and Jeremy Wise, general counsel of the Nassau County Interim Finance Authority.

Other applicants included: Mary Colby, head of the municipal research group at Charles Schwab Investment Management; Cynthia B. Green, a consultant to Pew Center on the States; Andrew Kalotay with Andrew Kalotay Associates, Inc., and Thomas F. Randazzo with Kroll Bond Ratings.

Subscribe Now

Independent and authoritative analysis and perspective for the bond buying industry.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.