The Senate Banking Committee unanimously agreed to recommend the full Senate confirm Kara Stein and Michael Piwowar as Securities and Exchange Commission members and chairman Mary Jo White to serve a full term.

"As our nation's economy continues to recover, we need strong leaders in place at our financial regulators and other agencies," committee chairman Tim Johnson, D-S.D. said after the vote on Thursday. "The committee's bipartisan approval ... is a positive step forward and I hope the Senate will move quickly to consider and confirm these nominees."

Subscribe Now

Independent and authoritative analysis and perspective for the bond buying industry.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.