Mayor Kirk Caldwell, who was officially inaugurated Wednesday and installed as the 14th mayor of the City and County of Honolulu, and pledged to work hard on behalf of the public, according to a release.

Caldwell was sworn into office by Hawaii Supreme Court Associate Justice Sabrina McKenna during a ceremony at the Mission Memorial Auditorium before an overflow crowd of well-wishers.

Hawaii Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald also administered the oath of office to five Honolulu City Council members: Ikaika Anderson; Ann Kobayashi; Joey Manahan; Ron Menor; and Kymberly Marcos Pine. Council Chairman Ernie Martin also welcomed Council members Stanley Chang, Carol Fukunaga and Breene Harimoto.

In his inauguration speech, Caldwell said he sought to foster a new era of mutual respect and cooperation with the Council, while acknowledging that some differences of opinion are to be expected, according to a release.

Subscribe Now

Independent and authoritative analysis and perspective for the bond buying industry.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.