The South Metro Water Supply Authority, made up of 13 towns or districts in Douglas and Arapahoe counties, is working on an agreement to divide water resources in the southern suburbs of Denver.

The authority expects to have an agreement on the rights to mountain runoff by this summer that would define each provider’s share of a series of infrastructure and water rights projects.

The plan calls for new reservoirs, pipelines, pumps, and water rights to get and store water. The project is expected to be funded with revenue bonds.

“Signing the participation agreement is a more than 20-year commitment that demonstrates our members dedication to working together to transition to a more sustainable supply portfolio and optimize resources,” Rod Kuharich, SMWSA’s executive director, said in a statement.

Currently, the members of the authority are highly dependent on water pumped from an aquifer. To create more sustainable supplies, the agency hopes to create a system for better use of surface water.

Subscribe Now

Independent and authoritative analysis and perspective for the bond buying industry.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.