The four legislative leaders who negotiated a 2009 budget deal to address California’s budget deficit with tax increases have been awarded the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award, the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum announced Tuesday.

The awards went to Dave Cogdill, the Senate Republican leader at the time; Mike Villines, then the Assembly’s GOP leader; and then-Assembly Speaker Karen Bass and Senate President Darrell Steinberg, both Democrats.

Subscribe Now

Independent and authoritative analysis and perspective for the bond buying industry.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.